Lately I’ve been catching up on some anime I was meaning to watch years ago. It’s a pity that a day only has 24 hours, isn’t it?

But I digress. The anime I’ve just finished watching today is entitled Planetes (or ΠΛΑΝΗΤΕΣ, as it is a Greek word the significance of which is “planets” and, initially, “wanderers”). When I began watching it, the only facts I knew about this anime were that its theme is the space and that it has quite a good rating at AniDB. While I’m not a very big fan of sci-fi and space-related stuff, I occassionally enjoy some great series, like Macross, Gundam or Seikai no Monshou. Also, while I’m generally sceptical about the ratings, I tend to trust in AniDB ratings, so I decided to watch Planetes and judge for myself.

Normally, when one thinks about sci-fi anime the first things that come to mind are giant mecha and colossal spaceships with all guns blazing. Planetes has nothing to do with those. I would dare to say that it’s the most realistic space-themed anime I watched in my life.

It starts a bit light-hearted showing the adventures of debris haulers that do their ungrateful, but important work and protect the space. It definitely has a touch of comedy, but a touch of romance and some drama too.

shot0005

Planetes shows us how the mankind’s advancement into space affects all the aspects of human life, and it’s not always a pleasant sight to see, as we see later in the series. The atmosphere gets heavy and the characters are faced with some difficult decisions.

I won’t go into more details, because I don’t want to give out any spoilers, but this is definitely one of the best anime series I’ve watched in years. And I usually try to watch the best ones there are.

If you want to watch some anime that gives some food for the brain, touches you emotionally and leaves you with a bittersweet feeling in the end, Planetes should be number one on your watchlist.

shot0003

Leave a Reply

